The Ghanaian Entertainment Struggz

I did an ad for an agency a few weeks ago and I was told I would be paid GHc 400 for it. Not only did it take FOREVER for me to actually get the money, the lady who contacted me for the ad (same one who told me I’d be paid 400) gives me the money and chooses that moment to announce what she called “agency fee” which happened to be a whopping 100 cedis.

What I’m wondering now is why she didn’t just say that from the BEGINNING and basically put it on the table that what I’m REALLY getting paid is 300! Or 250 when you take out the 50 cedis I spent getting my hair done and on transportation to and from the venue of the agency the day of the shoot.

This takes me back to about two weeks ago when I starred in a music video as the artist’s boo thang. Them niggas had me on set from past 6 in the morning to almost 12 noon. It rained that morning during the shoot and the DOP decided the rain was a nice touch and so I had to keep smiling, dancing and looking in love in the rain… wearing crazy heels. Have in mind that Bee left Accra to go on tour that same morning and I had to miss saying goodbye to her cause of this shoot YET I was paid shy of $100 for all that effort.

Mind you, with these two shoots, there was no wardrobe/ costumes and I brought what I wore on set from my personal wardrobe.

Down here, those starting out in entertainment sure take a lot of shit!

P.s when I watch the video and ascertain that I don’t look ridiculous and fat, then I will share a link to it.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

