A (Really) Short Story

Yesterday during a seminar presentation at my department, one of the department lecturers asked us to write a story in ten sentences with ten minutes. I ended up quite liking mine as it reminded me that I CAN WRITE. Grad school had me doubting and forgetting that for a minute there! So here is my story, not titled yet, and probably something I will develop on in the future.

She didn’t know why she still loved him. Everything he had done since the abortion showed he never really cared for her. As she walked around their apartment, she laughed. It was not a happy laugh. It was the kind of laugh people laugh when they are bitter, and she was bitter. She had been a fool for love, a love that existed only in her mind. She confirmed he didn’t love her when she saw the look of terror in his eyes as she suggested they keep their baby and get married. She was very sure their love was a lie when he didn’t show up to be with her at the clinic. He had lied to her from day one. So although she loved him, she was happy she killed him.

I want to sign out with something clever but I have to get back to freaking out over classics (music) on Youtube.

Xxx

Leave a Reply

